Fitbit Edge Activity Tracker Announced at $179 to Replace Charge Line
DC Rainmaker reports that Google and Fitbit have announced the Fitbit Edge at a $179 list price ($219 for a Stephen Curry Special Edition), replacing the Charge series with pre-orders reported as starting October 12, 2026, ahead of October 27 availability. Compared with the Charge 6, the tracker adds a larger 1.34-inch AMOLED display, a clickable physical side button, an altimeter, a user-replaceable battery, structured workout support, and automatic detection for roughly 100 sports, alongside a claimed 40% GPS accuracy improvement. However, the source notes that the device removes NFC contactless Google Pay and the EDA Scan feature, changes the band attachment mechanism, and costs more than the Charge 6's $159 list price.
Final price, sales tax, shipping, and eligibility are determined by the merchant.
Published on Savlume: · Content updated: · Source published:
Media review
Review findings & buying advice
Based on DC Rainmaker ↗. AI-assisted summary of the source; not a Savlume hands-on test.
The author’s pre-hands-on overview describes notable additions over the Charge 6, including more workout profiles and an altimeter, while criticizing the removal of Google Pay and noting the higher stated price. The author says device testing and further details are still to come.
Who it may suit Readers comparing the Fitbit Edge with the Charge 6, especially those interested in its workout features, altimeter, and physical button.
What the source liked
The author highlights the expanded automatic workout detection list and structured workout support.
The article identifies an altimeter and a larger display as additions over the Charge 6.
The author appreciates having many manual workout profiles available on-device.
Trade-offs & limitations
The article says Google Pay and EDA Scan are no longer included.
The author says the GPS improvement is a claim and that real-world performance remains to be seen.
The author reports a higher price than the Charge 6’s recent typical range as described in the article.
The linked video is provided by the original creator. This summary uses the available source text; no independent viewing or testing is claimed.
Questions this review helps answer
What price does the article report for the Fitbit Edge?
The article reports $179 for the Fitbit Edge.
What features does the article say were removed compared with the Charge 6?
It says Google Pay/contactless payments and EDA Scan were removed.
✦
AI brief
Source-based
The source presents the Fitbit Edge as a Charge 6 successor with a larger display, an altimeter, structured workouts, and expanded automatic workout recognition. It may be worth considering if those additions suit your tracking needs, but the author says hands-on testing is still forthcoming, and the higher stated price comes alongside the removal of Google Pay.
Best suited for People considering a small-screen activity tracker who value workout tracking options, stair and elevation tracking, or a physical button.
Highlights
The source says automatic workout recognition expands to roughly 100 sports, which may suit people who do varied activities.
An added altimeter supports stair and elevation tracking, useful for people who want those metrics.
The source lists structured workout support and a physical side button as additions over the Charge 6.
The article claims five minutes of charging provides one day of battery life, which may help when charging time is limited.
Consider before buying
The source says Google Pay/contactless payments and the EDA Scan feature were removed.
The author says hands-on details and testing were still forthcoming, so the article does not establish real-world GPS or workout-detection performance.
The article reports preorders starting on publication day and availability on October 27, but gives no year in that availability statement.
iOS requires version 16.4 or newer and Android requires version 11 or newer, according to the source.
Product facts & conditions
Model / variant
Fitbit Edge
AI-generated from the original report, not a hands-on review. Confirm details with the retailer. Read source ↗
What’s the deal?
Product
Fitbit Edge
Model / variant
Fitbit Edge
Condition
Not specified
Merchant
Not specified
Actual seller
Not specified
Fulfilled by
Not specified
Source-reported listed price
Not specified
Conditional checkout price
Not specified
Price comparison basis
Not specified
Unit price
Not specified
Minimum spend
Not specified
Shipping
Unknown — confirm with the merchant
Cashback after purchase
Not specified
Gift card after purchase
Not specified
Points after purchase
Not specified
Sales tax
Additional; depends on delivery address
Coupon code
Not specified
US availability
United States; the article also mentions availability in Canada and EMEA for the Stephen Curry model.
Deadline (source timezone)
Not specified
Deadline in Eastern time
Not specified
Cashback, gift cards, and points are separate rewards. They are not subtracted from the checkout price. Price comparisons cover only the matching observations recorded by Savlume; they are not a complete market history.
How to get it
Exact redemption steps were not specified. Read the merchant’s conditions before ordering.
Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.
A Slickdeals post reports that MorningSave is offering the Wattbricks H100 99.2Wh 120W Power Station bundled with a 30W Solar Panel for $34.99 before tax. This compact portable power kit may appeal to shoppers looking for basic backup or outdoor charging on a budget. Although the source headline advertises free shipping, the post's checkout instructions tell buyers to select an $8.99/month membership option to receive free standard shipping and 10% back in Stores Cash, leaving non-member shipping costs unclear. Current inventory, item condition, warranty coverage, and offer expiration remain unknown.
Member Deal
Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.
Tom's Guide compares the newly announced Google Fitbit Edge (reported at $179–$180) with the screen-free $99 Fitbit Air. Based on prior testing, the author recommends the Fitbit Air for budget-conscious buyers seeking comfort without live workout feedback, while positioning the untested Fitbit Edge—open for pre-order ahead of an October 27 release—for Android and iOS users wanting a small display, built-in GPS, an ECG app, and a claimed week of battery life. Both trackers feature swappable bands, though unlocking the Gemini-powered health coach and advanced sleep metrics requires a paid Google Health Premium membership (pricing and terms unspecified).
SoundGuys reports that Amazon is offering the Sony WH-1000XM5 wireless noise-canceling headphones for $198, marking a significant discount from its $399.99 list price. The over-ear model features active noise cancellation, multipoint Bluetooth pairing, LDAC support, and up to 30 hours of battery life with ANC active. Shoppers can access the deal directly on Amazon. Merchant seller identity, available color options, and delivery fees were not specified in the report.
Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.
DealNews reports that Newegg is hosting its Gametober Sale, featuring advertised discounts of up to 75% on select gaming desktops, laptops, monitors, storage, and PC components. Certain discounts require specific promotional codes shown on individual product pages to be applied at checkout. Savings, stock availability, and shipping charges vary depending on the item and seller, with promotions reported to run through October 31. Shoppers should review final checkout totals and seller warranty terms before purchasing.