Google Fitbit Edge vs. Fitbit Air Comparison: Specs, Features, and Early Impressions
Tom's Guide compares the newly announced Google Fitbit Edge (reported at $179–$180) with the screen-free $99 Fitbit Air. Based on prior testing, the author recommends the Fitbit Air for budget-conscious buyers seeking comfort without live workout feedback, while positioning the untested Fitbit Edge—open for pre-order ahead of an October 27 release—for Android and iOS users wanting a small display, built-in GPS, an ECG app, and a claimed week of battery life. Both trackers feature swappable bands, though unlocking the Gemini-powered health coach and advanced sleep metrics requires a paid Google Health Premium membership (pricing and terms unspecified).
Final price, sales tax, shipping, and eligibility are determined by the merchant.
Published on Savlume: · Content updated: · Source published:
Buying guide
Review findings & buying advice
Based on Tom’s Guide ↗. AI-assisted summary of the source; not a Savlume hands-on test.
Tom’s Guide presents the Fitbit Edge as a screen-equipped alternative to the screen-free Fitbit Air, but says the Edge had not yet been tested. Its comparison centers on whether buyers want a display, GPS, and more on-device feedback.
Who it may suit Buyers choosing between a screen-equipped fitness tracker and a screen-free band, particularly those who want built-in GPS.
What the source liked
The article lists a small display, built-in GPS, and a week of battery life.
It says the Edge tracks workouts, sleep, and stress from the wrist.
The article says it works with Android and iOS.
Trade-offs & limitations
The author says they had not yet tested the Edge.
The article says it has fewer apps and notifications than a smartwatch.
The health coach and some advanced sleep features require a paid Google Health Premium membership.
Questions this review helps answer
Does the Fitbit Edge have built-in GPS?
Yes. The article lists built-in GPS among its features.
What does the article say the Edge tracks?
Workouts, sleep, and stress from the wrist.
Is a membership needed for the health coach?
The article says Google Health Premium is required for the Gemini-powered health coach and some advanced sleep features.
✦
AI brief
Source-based
The Fitbit Edge may be worth considering if you want a fitness tracker with a display, built-in GPS, and week-long battery life. The article says it had not yet tested the Edge, so its assessment is based on listed features rather than hands-on evaluation.
Best suited for Buyers who want a screen and built-in GPS for workout and health tracking, and who do not need the broader apps and notifications of a smartwatch.
Highlights
The article lists built-in GPS, which may suit buyers who want GPS functionality on the tracker itself.
A small display can provide screen-based feedback; the article contrasts this with the screen-free Fitbit Air.
The stated week of battery life may appeal to buyers seeking less frequent charging than daily charging, though no testing is provided.
Consider before buying
The article says the author had not tested the Fitbit Edge, so the listed capabilities are not supported by the author's hands-on evaluation.
Google Health Premium membership is required for the Gemini-powered health coach and some advanced sleep features, and adds expense.
The article says the Edge offers fewer apps and notifications than a smartwatch.
The article says the Edge can be pre-ordered and gives October 27 as its release date, but provides no year or time zone.
Product facts & conditions
Model / variant
Fitbit Edge · Active band; olive green, black, white, or pink
AI-generated from the original report, not a hands-on review. Confirm details with the retailer. Read source ↗
What’s the deal?
Product
Google Fitbit Edge
Model / variant
Fitbit Edge · Active band; olive green, black, white, or pink
Condition
Not specified
Merchant
Not specified
Actual seller
Not specified
Fulfilled by
Pre-order; release stated as October 27
Source-reported listed price
Not specified
Conditional checkout price
Not specified
Price comparison basis
The article also describes the Fitbit Air at $99; it does not establish typical selling prices or savings.
Unit price
Not specified
Minimum spend
Not specified
Shipping
Unknown — confirm with the merchant
Cashback after purchase
Not specified
Gift card after purchase
Not specified
Points after purchase
Not specified
Sales tax
Additional; depends on delivery address
Coupon code
Not specified
US availability
Not specified
Deadline (source timezone)
Not specified
Deadline in Eastern time
Not specified
Cashback, gift cards, and points are separate rewards. They are not subtracted from the checkout price. Price comparisons cover only the matching observations recorded by Savlume; they are not a complete market history.
How to get it
Exact redemption steps were not specified. Read the merchant’s conditions before ordering.
Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.
What to watch out for
Eligibility
Not specified
Membership
Google Health Premium membership is required for the Gemini-powered health coach and some advanced sleep features; the article says it is an extra expense.
Meh is offering a two-pack of Aukey MagFusion 2-in-1 Foldable Wireless Chargers for $24.99, down from a stated regular price of $120. Applying promo code HIP2SAVE at checkout waives the standard shipping fee. The compact stands feature a magnetic Qi2 charging pad for compatible smartphones and an integrated pad for wireless earbuds, folding completely flat for easy travel. Availability is limited, and specific warranty and return conditions are not detailed by the merchant.
Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.
DealNews reports that Amazon offers a 6-pack of WHonor RFID blocking cards for $5.99, reduced from a listed $7.99. Measuring 0.03 inches thick to fit standard wallet slots, these passive PVC cards are designed to shield credit cards without requiring batteries or recharging. Free shipping is available for Amazon Prime members, whereas non-Prime accounts may incur standard delivery charges. Inventory availability, third-party seller details, and checkout totals remain unverified.
Amazon offers the Innocn 45C1R 45-inch ultrawide curved monitor for $549.99 with free shipping, taking $105 off its $654.99 list price. The display features a 5120x1440 resolution, 120Hz refresh rate, Adaptive-Sync, and a 65W USB-C port suitable for dual-window productivity and gaming. To receive the discounted price, shoppers must clip the digital coupon on the product page before checkout.
DealNews reports that the Wegear 1080p USB-A Webcam is available at Amazon for a conditional checkout price of $12.50 before tax when applying coupon code L3NXYIFP. The source compares this to a $30 list price, which is an MSRP reference rather than a demonstrated recent selling price. Reported features include 1080p 30FPS video, dual microphones, auto light balance, and a sliding privacy cover. Free shipping applies for Amazon Prime members, while shipping costs for non-members, third-party seller details, and exact expiration timing (listed variously as October 24 or October 25, 2026 without a timezone) remain unknown.