Buying Guide: Navigating Apple's New HomeView, Apple TV 4K, and Smart Home Lineup
The Gadgeteer evaluates Apple's newly announced smart home devices, advising existing Apple users to check current hardware before buying. The guide notes that the $299 HomeView tabletop and wall displays require an iPhone or iPad on iOS 27.2 or later, with wall mounts sold separately. Furthermore, four-speaker surround sound demands the new fourth-generation Apple TV 4K paired with specific HomePod models, while advanced camera and Siri AI features remain dependent on iCloud+ subscriptions and compatible paired devices.
Final price, sales tax, shipping, and eligibility are determined by the merchant.
Published on Savlume: · Content updated: · Source published:
Buying guide
Review findings & buying advice
Based on The Gadgeteer ↗. AI-assisted summary of the source; not a Savlume hands-on test.
The Gadgeteer’s guide recommends matching an announced Apple home product to a household’s specific unmet need and checking compatibility before replacing working equipment.
Who it may suit Apple users assessing whether a shared display, surround-sound setup, additional speaker, or connected home accessory addresses a practical household need.
What the source liked
Compares several products by their stated roles and explains relevant compatibility limits.
Distinguishes announced product prices and rollout timing from feature requirements and additional hardware costs.
Points out when existing Apple devices may already provide hub or speaker functions.
Trade-offs & limitations
The products discussed have different availability dates, and some features are described as future software updates.
The guide does not provide hands-on testing or establish energy savings from thermostat automation.
Questions this review helps answer
What does the article say is needed for the new Apple TV surround setup?
The fourth-generation Apple TV 4K and four HomePod mini 2 or second-generation full-size HomePods, arranged in matching front and rear pairs.
Does HomePod mini 2 include Siri AI at launch, according to the article?
Siri AI is promised through a future free software update, with no release date announced.
What additional requirement does the article identify for ten days of camera event history?
An eligible iCloud+ plan.
✦
AI brief
Source-based
The article compares Apple’s announced home products by use case and explains how existing Apple devices affect compatibility. It may help Apple households decide which announced addition fits a specific need, but it does not establish that any one product is the right purchase for every reader.
Best suited for Existing Apple users weighing announced smart-home additions against the devices and services they already use.
Highlights
Explains that the new Apple TV 4K’s four-speaker surround setup requires the fourth-generation box and compatible HomePod models.
Describes HomeView’s 7-inch shared touchscreen and its wired-power requirements for countertop and wall-mounted versions.
Notes that HomePod mini 2’s Siri AI features are promised in a later free software update with no announced date.
Summarizes Home Collection camera, lock, and thermostat compatibility and related iCloud+ or device requirements.
Consider before buying
Prices and availability are announced US details in the article, not confirmed checkout prices; products have different stated release or rollout timing.
Some capabilities require compatible Apple devices, software, iCloud+ plans, or supported services; check the specific feature requirements before buying.
HomeView wall-mount hardware is separate, and the article says HDMI and USB-C cables for Apple TV 4K are separate.
The article says Apple TV 4K remains limited to 4K at 60 frames per second; HDMI 2.1 does not provide 4K120 output.
Product facts & conditions
AI-generated from the original report, not a hands-on review. Confirm details with the retailer. Read source ↗
What’s the deal?
Product
Not specified
Model / variant
Not specified
Condition
Not specified
Merchant
Not specified
Actual seller
Not specified
Fulfilled by
Not specified
Source-reported listed price
Not specified
Conditional checkout price
Not specified
Price comparison basis
Not specified
Unit price
Not specified
Minimum spend
Not specified
Shipping
Unknown — confirm with the merchant
Cashback after purchase
Not specified
Gift card after purchase
Not specified
Points after purchase
Not specified
Sales tax
Additional; depends on delivery address
Coupon code
Not specified
US availability
United States
Deadline (source timezone)
Not specified
Deadline in Eastern time
Not specified
Cashback, gift cards, and points are separate rewards. They are not subtracted from the checkout price. Price comparisons cover only the matching observations recorded by Savlume; they are not a complete market history.
How to get it
Exact redemption steps were not specified. Read the merchant’s conditions before ordering.
Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.
Amazon via third-party seller Lenovo Product Marketplace offers a 2-pack of Wegear 30W GaN USB-C wall chargers with two cables for $9.99 after applying promo code JXY8N1S2 at checkout. The bundle is available in black or white, bringing the cost down to about $5 per charger set. Shipping is free for Amazon Prime subscribers or on eligible orders of $35 or more. The promo code may require re-entry during checkout and is subject to expiration without notice.
Prime required for free shipping unless the order is $35 or more.Member Deal
Ben’s Bargains reports that Walmart lists the 2026 VIZIO 85-inch Mini-LED Quantum 4K QLED HDR Smart TV for $698, down from a referenced $798 retail price. The reported deal offers an extra-large display equipped with Mini-LED backlighting and integrated smart streaming features. Shipping charges, current inventory, and third-party seller or fulfillment terms are not detailed in the listing. Shoppers should check Walmart directly to confirm availability, delivery fees, and the final checkout price before sales tax.
Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.
Best Buy highlights its Deal of the Day promotion, offering time-limited daily discounts across electronics, home appliances, and tech accessories. Shoppers can view these rotating offers online or via the Best Buy mobile app, with additional savings opportunities highlighted through the retailer's outlet section and My Best Buy Total membership program. Specific featured items and price points change daily, and product availability remains subject to stock limits. Delivery fees, taxes, and exact savings vary depending on the specific item and checkout location.
Best Buy has marked the INIU 10,000mAh 22.5W Portable Power Bank (model PX01-41X) down to $12.99 from its reported $22.99 regular price. The compact charger features two USB-C ports, one USB-A port, and an integrated detachable USB-C cable that doubles as a lanyard. Standard shipping is free for My Best Buy account holders (free to join), or customers can select free in-store pickup where local stock is available.
Shipping is free for My Best Buy members.Pickup is available only at select locations where stock permits; availability may vary by location.Member Deal
Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.