Tom's Guide Highlights Key Upgrades in the Upcoming $180 Fitbit Edge Fitness Tracker
According to Tom's Guide, Google's newly announced $180 Fitbit Edge fitness tracker presents notable design and sensor upgrades over the older Charge 6 ahead of its planned October 27 release. The author highlights its larger screen, tactile side button, built-in GPS, and ECG monitoring, positioning the tracker between minimalist screenless wearables and full smartwatches. The device also integrates updated cardio tracking and Gemini-assisted coaching for premium subscribers. Note that these observations reflect announced specifications and author impressions, as full hands-on testing has not yet been completed.
Final price, sales tax, shipping, and eligibility are determined by the merchant.
Published on Savlume: · Content updated: · Source published:
Media review
Review findings & buying advice
Based on Tom’s Guide ↗. AI-assisted summary of the source; not a Savlume hands-on test.
Tom's Guide's author is excited about the announced Fitbit Edge, particularly its screen, physical button, and built-in GPS, but says they will test the device after getting one.
Who it may suit Buyers seeking a screen-equipped fitness tracker with built-in GPS, rather than a screenless tracker or smartwatch.
What the source liked
The author says built-in GPS can track outdoor runs and rides without a phone.
The larger, brighter screen and physical button address usability concerns the author had with the Charge 6.
The article lists multiple health-tracking sensors and features, including ECG, skin temperature, HRV, SpO2, cardio load, and VO2 max.
Trade-offs & limitations
The author's direct testing of the Fitbit Edge had not yet taken place.
The Gemini-powered health coach requires Google Health Premium.
The article says the cost of additional bands was not yet known.
Source testing context The author describes testing the Fitbit Air's heart-rate sensor and health coach, but says the Fitbit Edge has not yet been tested.
Questions this review helps answer
Can the Edge track outdoor runs and rides without a phone?
The article says it has built-in GPS for tracking runs and rides outdoors without carrying a phone.
Does the Edge include a physical button?
The article describes a clickable physical button on the side.
Does the health coach require a subscription?
The article says the Gemini-powered health coach is for Google Health Premium subscribers.
✦
AI brief
Source-based
The author is excited about the Fitbit Edge as a screen-equipped alternative to the Fitbit Air, citing built-in GPS, a larger brighter screen, and a physical button. It may be worth considering if those features suit your workouts, but the article says the author has not yet tested the Edge.
Best suited for People who want a fitness tracker with a screen and built-in GPS for outdoor runs or rides without carrying a phone.
Highlights
Built-in GPS is described as enabling outdoor run and ride tracking without a phone.
The author says the Edge has a larger, brighter screen than the Charge 6, which may appeal to people who find that model's screen difficult to use.
A physical side button offers a clickable control, unlike the Charge 6's haptic button, according to the article.
The article lists ECG, skin-temperature, HRV, and SpO2 sensors, along with cardio load, VO2 max, and readiness features.
Consider before buying
The author says they have not yet tested the Fitbit Edge, so the article's enthusiasm is based on announced features rather than hands-on Edge experience.
The Gemini-powered health coach is for Google Health Premium subscribers.
The article says extra band prices were unknown at the time of writing and that preorders then offered only the active band and Stephen Curry looped band.
Product facts & conditions
Model / variant
Fitbit Edge
AI-generated from the original report, not a hands-on review. Confirm details with the retailer. Read source ↗
What’s the deal?
Product
Fitbit Edge
Model / variant
Fitbit Edge
Condition
Not specified
Merchant
Not specified
Actual seller
Not specified
Fulfilled by
Not specified
Source-reported listed price
Not specified
Conditional checkout price
Not specified
Price comparison basis
Not specified
Unit price
Not specified
Minimum spend
Not specified
Shipping
Unknown — confirm with the merchant
Cashback after purchase
Not specified
Gift card after purchase
Not specified
Points after purchase
Not specified
Sales tax
Additional; depends on delivery address
Coupon code
Not specified
US availability
Not specified
Deadline (source timezone)
Not specified
Deadline in Eastern time
Not specified
Cashback, gift cards, and points are separate rewards. They are not subtracted from the checkout price. Price comparisons cover only the matching observations recorded by Savlume; they are not a complete market history.
How to get it
Exact redemption steps were not specified. Read the merchant’s conditions before ordering.
Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.
What to watch out for
Eligibility
Not specified
Membership
Google Health Premium subscription required for the Gemini-powered health coach.
In a two-week review for Tom's Guide, author Darragh Murphy evaluated the $699 Acer Swift Air 14 (Intel Core 5 320, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD) as a budget ultraportable for students, families, and remote workers. Based on the publication's testing, the 2.6-pound laptop delivered 16 hours and 52 minutes of battery life, reliable everyday multitasking, a 14-inch 120Hz FHD+ display, and dual Thunderbolt 4 ports alongside USB-A. However, the reviewer noted significant keyboard deck flex, a grainy 1080p webcam, pre-installed bloatware, a lack of Wi-Fi 7, and weak gaming or heavy-editing performance.
Tom's Guide reviewer John Velasco tested RedPocket Mobile's $10/month Essentials plan (or roughly $100/year upfront) for 30 days between the Jersey Shore and Manhattan. The plan includes unlimited talk and text, 3GB of premium 5G data, international calling to 20+ countries, and roaming in 60+ destinations across major US carrier networks. The reviewer recorded modest peak speeds of 48.5 Mbps download and 4.44 Mbps upload—sufficient for email, web browsing, and light video, though exhausting the 3GB cap drops data to barely usable 2G speeds. It best suits light data users who rely primarily on Wi-Fi; taxes, fees, and renewal terms are unspecified.
A Slickdeals post reports that Bose via eBay is offering the Certified Refurbished Bose Solo Soundbar 2 Home Theater for $96.75 before tax, reduced from a listed $129.00 price. To get this conditional checkout price, shoppers must apply promo code HOSTING25 for 25% off at checkout. The source notes that shipping is free and that the unit includes a 2-year warranty serviced by Allstate. Because this is a refurbished item and neither current stock nor promo code expiration has been independently verified, shoppers should confirm availability and final checkout pricing on eBay.
Certified Refurbished
Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.
A Slickdeals user reports that Amazon lists the 32-inch Samsung Odyssey G55C Series Curved Gaming Monitor (model LS32CG550ENXZA) on sale for $189.99 before applicable sales tax, with free shipping included. According to the source, the display features a 2560x1440 QHD resolution, a 165Hz refresh rate, and a 1ms (MPRT) response time. No promo code is mentioned to access the reported price at checkout. Product condition, specific seller, warranty details, prior selling price, and offer expiration remain unknown based on the provided report.