Fitbit Edge vs. Fitbit Charge 6: Which Fitness Tracker Should You Choose?
Tom’s Guide evaluated the new Fitbit Edge ($179 preorder) against the older Fitbit Charge 6, which the outlet reports is available for around $124 at Walmart. The author highlights that the Edge features a larger 1.34-inch display, a physical button, an altimeter, and updated health safety features. However, the Edge unexpectedly lacks NFC support for Google Wallet payments, an everyday feature the Charge 6 retains. Shoppers prioritizing contactless wrist payments and a lower price may prefer the Charge 6, while the Edge suits users wanting modern health tracking and improved outdoor visibility.
Published on Savlume: · Content updated: · Source published:
✦
AI brief
From the source report
Tom's Guide compares the Fitbit Edge with the Charge 6, weighing newer health and safety features and a larger display against the Charge 6's NFC payments and lower cited price. The Edge may suit buyers prioritizing the newer features, while the Charge 6 may fit those who want on-wrist Google Wallet; the article says Edge battery performance has not yet been tested by its author.
Best suited for Buyers choosing between the Fitbit Edge and Charge 6 based on health features, display size, outdoor tracking, or NFC payments.
Highlights
The article says the Edge adds loss-of-pulse detection, breathing emergency alerts, and blood pressure trend reports, which may matter to buyers seeking Google's newer health and safety features.
The Edge's 1.34-inch AMOLED display is larger than the Charge 6's 1.04-inch display, potentially making on-device information easier to view and interact with.
The Charge 6 supports NFC and Google Wallet for on-wrist contactless payments, a feature the article says the Edge lacks.
Before you buy
The article reports that the Edge lacks NFC and Google Wallet, which the Charge 6 supports.
The author says they have not yet tested the Edge's battery performance; its up-to-seven-day rating is stated, not independently tested in the article.
The article says the Edge was still in preorder, with units expected to ship at the end of October; it does not specify a year for that expected shipping date.
Product facts & conditions
Written by AI from the source report, not a hands-on test. Read source ↗
Tom's Guide concludes that the Edge is the overall winner for its newer health and safety features, larger display, and physical controls, while the Charge 6 retains an advantage in NFC payments and is described as more affordable.
Who it may suit The Edge for shoppers prioritizing newer health and safety tools; the Charge 6 for shoppers who value NFC payments and a cited lower price.
What the source liked
The author prefers the Edge's physical, clickable button to the Charge 6's haptic button.
The article says the Edge offers a larger, brighter display and added health and safety features.
The author reports the Charge 6 lasted close to five or six days in their experience.
Trade-offs & limitations
The article says the Edge lacks NFC and Google Wallet support.
The author had not tested the Edge's battery performance at the time of writing.
Questions this review helps answer
Which tracker supports contactless payments?
The article says the Charge 6 has NFC and Google Wallet support; the Edge does not.
What health and safety features does the article attribute to the Edge?
It lists insulin resistance and blood pressure trend reports, breathing emergency alerts, and loss-of-pulse detection.
What battery life does the article report?
Both are rated for up to seven days; the author says the Charge 6 lasted close to five or six days and had not yet tested the Edge.
$42.4939% offCoupon requiredas of Oct 16, 3:34 AM ET
The Baseus brand store on Amazon is reported to offer the Baseus 10,000mAh Picogo Qi2 MagSafe Power Bank in grey for $25.99 with free shipping. Available to Amazon Prime members, the charger is listed at $42.49 and drops to $25.99 when applying promo code RQA7Y0GJ at checkout. The battery pack supports 15W Qi2 wireless charging along with 27W USB-C fast wired charging. Note that an active Prime subscription is required to view the sale price, promo codes may expire at any time, and local sales tax is not included.
Sold by Baseus brand store via AmazonPrime MembersMember deal
DealNews reports that the Ugreen 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub is available for $6.98 at Amazon, down from a listed $9.99. Designed for quick expansion, the compact adapter splits a single USB-A port into four and supports data transfer speeds up to 5Gbps via an integrated 0.5-foot cable. Amazon Prime subscribers receive free shipping on the order, while non-Prime shoppers must meet Amazon's standard minimum order threshold to avoid added delivery charges. Current stock levels, third-party seller details, and warranty terms are not specified.
A community deal report notes Capcom Fighting Collection for Nintendo Switch is available as a digital download for $9.90. The compilation features ten classic arcade titles, including selections from the Street Fighter and Darkstalkers series, Cyberbots, and Red Earth, complete with online multiplayer support. The promotional pricing is reported to run through November 4, though a specific digital storefront and cutoff timezone are not specified. Shoppers should verify digital redemption requirements, active availability, and checkout totals before completing an order.
FanFlix is running a Build Your Own Bundle of Horror promotion offering five select Lionsgate digital films for $10. Available titles in 4K UHD or HD include The Mist, The Cabin in the Woods, House of 1000 Corpses, Saw, and It Follows. Redemption platforms and Movies Anywhere compatibility vary by movie.