AI Picks. Better Deals.Our approach ↗
Fitbit Air and Oura Ring 5

Image from original source. Product appearance and availability may vary.

Savlume · Source: Tom’s Guide ·

Fitbit Air vs. Oura Ring 5: Comparing Screenless Sleep Trackers, Costs, and Features

In a comparative review, Tom's Guide evaluates the screenless Fitbit Air wristband against the Oura Ring 5 smart ring for overnight sleep tracking. The reviewer notes the Fitbit Air starts at a reported $99.99 at Google and Amazon, tracking core sleep metrics without an obligatory paid tier. In contrast, the Oura Ring 5 starts at a reported $399 directly from Oura and mandates an ongoing $5.99 monthly app subscription, though the author found it more comfortable and comprehensive for metrics like sleep debt. An optional $9.99 monthly Google Health Premium tier is also available for Fitbit users.

Read original at Tom’s Guide ↗

Final price, sales tax, shipping, and eligibility are determined by the merchant.

Published on Savlume: · Content updated: · Source published:

Media review

Review findings & buying advice

Based on Tom’s Guide ↗. AI-assisted summary of the source; not a Savlume hands-on test.

Tom's Guide's author favors the Oura Ring 5 for sleep tracking, comfort, and detailed insights, but names the Fitbit Air the value choice because its standard metrics do not require a subscription.

Who it may suit
Oura Ring 5: readers prioritizing detailed sleep and recovery data. Fitbit Air: readers seeking basic tracking without a required subscription.

What the source liked

  • The author says Oura makes movement, heart rate, and HRV easy to view alongside sleep data, and offers sleep-debt and body-clock insights.
  • The author reports that Fitbit Air has clear activity percentages in its app and is more comfortable for hands-on activities such as weightlifting.
  • The source says both trackers report sleep stages and duration and provide sleep scores.

Trade-offs & limitations

  • The author says Oura requires a paid subscription and describes its starting price as substantially higher than Fitbit Air's.
  • The author reports occasionally waking with a Fitbit-shaped dent on the wrist.
  • The author notes that sleep-tracker readings are not 100% accurate and says calorie readings should be treated cautiously.

Source testing context
The author says they wore both trackers, sometimes simultaneously, and observed similar sleep patterns across several weeks. The article also refers to a colleague's step-count comparison.

Questions this review helps answer

Does either tracker require a subscription for standard metrics?

The article says Fitbit Air's free tier includes standard tracking metrics and requires no subscription. It says Oura Ring 5 requires a $5.99-per-month subscription.

Which tracker does the author prefer for detailed sleep tracking?

The author favors Oura Ring 5, citing its sleep-data presentation, sleep-debt tracking, and body-clock insights.

Which tracker does the article say is better for step counting?

The article says a fitness editor found Fitbit Air the winner in step counting.

AI brief

Source-based

This comparison may help narrow down a screenless sleep tracker: the source favors the Oura Ring 5 for sleep-data detail and comfort, while describing the Fitbit Air as a less expensive option with no subscription required for standard metrics. Consider the Oura if its additional sleep insights matter to you; the Fitbit may suit buyers seeking basic tracking without an ongoing fee.

Best suited for
Readers comparing screenless wearables for sleep tracking, with different priorities: Oura Ring 5 for detailed sleep and recovery insights, or Fitbit Air for basic tracking without a required subscription.

Highlights

  • The source says both trackers report sleep stages and duration; this may suit buyers seeking those basic sleep metrics in a screenless device.
  • The author says Oura surfaces movement, heart rate, and HRV together and includes sleep-debt and body-clock insights, which may help buyers who want more context about sleep patterns.
  • The source says Fitbit Air's standard tracking metrics do not require a subscription, a practical consideration for buyers avoiding an ongoing fee.

Consider before buying

  • The Oura Ring 5 requires a subscription, reported by the source at $5.99 per month.
  • The article says the Fitbit Air can sometimes leave a dent on the author's wrist while sleeping; this is the author's experience, not a guarantee for every wearer.
  • The author cautions that no at-home sleep tracker is 100% accurate.
  • The article does not provide verified checkout prices or offer terms.
Product facts & conditions

AI-generated from the original report, not a hands-on review. Confirm details with the retailer. Read source ↗

What’s the deal?

Product
Fitbit Air and Oura Ring 5
Model / variant
Not specified
Condition
Not specified
Merchant
Not specified
Actual seller
Not specified
Fulfilled by
Not specified
Source-reported listed price
Not specified
Conditional checkout price
Not specified
Price comparison basis
Not specified
Unit price
Not specified
Minimum spend
Not specified
Shipping
Unknown — confirm with the merchant
Cashback after purchase
Not specified
Gift card after purchase
Not specified
Points after purchase
Not specified
Sales tax
Additional; depends on delivery address
Coupon code
Not specified
US availability
Not specified
Deadline (source timezone)
Not specified
Deadline in Eastern time
Not specified

Cashback, gift cards, and points are separate rewards. They are not subtracted from the checkout price. Price comparisons cover only the matching observations recorded by Savlume; they are not a complete market history.

How to get it

Exact redemption steps were not specified. Read the merchant’s conditions before ordering.

Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.

What to watch out for

Eligibility
Not specified
Membership
Not specified
Subscription
Not specified
Renewal price / auto-renewal
Not specified
Cancellation
Not specified
Warranty
Not specified
Returns
Not specified

Evidence & sources

How we check offers · Text version

Source report only. Merchant price, availability, seller, and conditions have not been independently confirmed.

Last successful verification: Not yet verified

Last check attempted: Not yet checked

Explore deals by category & retailer

Find product offers, coupon conditions and shopping updates from our sources.

Beauty & Personal Care dealsElectronics & Gaming dealsFashion & Shoes dealsGrocery & Household dealsHome & Kitchen dealsBaby, Kids & Toys dealsSports & Outdoors dealsPets dealsSoftware & Subscriptions deals
Amazon dealsBest Buy dealsB&H Photo dealsFosi Audio dealsWoot dealsKohl’s dealsUnder Armour dealsWalgreens dealsHome Depot dealsLowe’s dealsTarget dealsWalmart dealsApple dealsSam’s Club deals