TechRadar Reviews Oscal Pilot 8: Mid-Range Performance and 10,000mAh Battery in a Slim Rugged Build
TechRadar tested the Oscal Pilot 8, finding it balances rugged utility with pocket-friendly portability at 389 grams and 17.9 millimeters thick. The reviewer praised its Qualcomm QCM6690 processor, bright 6.83-inch 120Hz AMOLED screen, and long-lasting 10,000mAh battery for multi-day field use. However, the assessment revealed notable compromises, including occasional camera app crashes, sluggish capture recycling, a modest 1.2-meter drop rating, and no included power adapter. Outdoor users seeking 4K recording may appreciate the hardware, though retail availability remains primarily confined to AliExpress.
Mark Pickavance describes the Pilot 8 as a practical, relatively pocketable rugged phone with a strong feature set for its price, while noting the modest drop rating, camera-app glitches, and uncertain update support.
Who it may suit The reviewer suggests it for outdoor users who want a relatively pocketable rugged phone or need 4K video capture.
What the source liked
The reviewer found the 389g, 17.9mm-thick design relatively slim and lightweight for a rugged phone.
The reviewer reports good performance in testing and describes the Qualcomm QCM6690 as matching or slightly outperforming the Dimensity 8300 in some comparisons.
The reviewer describes the AMOLED display as bright in use and reports that the camera sensors support 4K video at up to 60fps.
Trade-offs & limitations
The reviewer calls the 1.2-meter drop rating modest for a rugged phone.
The reviewer encountered camera-app lockups and a delay before the app was ready for another photo.
The reviewer says the claimed 2,000-nit peak brightness was inconclusive in testing and describes software-update support as largely unknown.
Source testing context The article describes benchmarking, a PCMark battery test, display observations in bright sunlight, and use of the review sample; it reports that the screen-brightness testing was inconclusive.
Questions this review helps answer
Can the cameras record 4K video?
The reviewer says the primary rear and front-facing sensors can record at up to 4K and 60fps.
Does the phone have a thermal camera?
No. The reviewer says the standard model has night vision but no thermal camera or thermal app.
Is the launch offer still available?
No. The article says the offer running from August 17 to 26 had ended.
✦
AI brief
Source-based
Worth considering if you need a rugged phone that is relatively pocketable: the reviewer highlights its 389g weight, 17.9mm thickness, 10,000mAh battery, and 4K/60fps video capability. The article’s launch offer has ended, and it reports limited availability, so its quoted price should not be treated as a currently available checkout price.
Best suited for The source recommends considering it for outdoor use and for capturing 4K video, including documenting adventures. It cautions that buyers seeking close-up macro photography or especially long battery life may want another option.
Highlights
The reviewer says the 389g, 17.9mm-thick body is relatively pocketable for a rugged phone, which may suit buyers carrying it outdoors.
The 10,000mAh battery and reviewer-reported strong efficiency may help with extended use away from power, though the article’s battery-life estimates are not a guarantee.
The reviewer reports that both the primary rear and front cameras can record 4K at up to 60fps, useful for documenting activities.
The source describes a 6.83-inch AMOLED display and IP68/IP69K and MIL-STD-810H protection claims.
Consider before buying
The launch offer is explicitly described as ended; the source does not confirm a current price or checkout availability.
The reviewer reports limited availability, saying AliExpress was the only retailer they could find at the time and that the model was not available on Amazon or official Oscal regional sites.
The reviewer calls the 1.2-meter drop rating modest compared with some rivals and says update support is largely unknown.
The reviewer reports camera-app lockups and slow readiness after taking photos; the phone also has no wireless charging and no charger was supplied with the review unit in Europe.
Product facts & conditions
Model / variant
Oscal Pilot 8 · 12GB RAM, 256GB storage, Black
AI-generated from the original report, not a hands-on review. Confirm details with the retailer. Read source ↗
What’s the deal?
Product
Oscal Pilot 8 rugged phone
Model / variant
Oscal Pilot 8 · 12GB RAM, 256GB storage, Black
Condition
Not specified
Merchant
Not specified
Actual seller
AliExpress (the source says it was the only retailer the reviewer could find at the time of writing)
Fulfilled by
Not specified
Source-reported listed price
Not specified
Conditional checkout price
Not specified
Price comparison basis
Not specified
Unit price
Not specified
Minimum spend
Not specified
Shipping
Unknown — confirm with the merchant
Cashback after purchase
Not specified
Gift card after purchase
Not specified
Points after purchase
Not specified
Sales tax
Additional; depends on delivery address
Coupon code
Not specified
US availability
USA price reported; the source also gives separate UK and European prices.
Deadline (source timezone)
“running from 17 to 26 August. That offer has ended.”
Deadline in Eastern time
Not specified
Cashback, gift cards, and points are separate rewards. They are not subtracted from the checkout price. Price comparisons cover only the matching observations recorded by Savlume; they are not a complete market history.
How to get it
Exact redemption steps were not specified. Read the merchant’s conditions before ordering.
Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.
Amazon offers the Anker eufy Solar Security Wall Light Cam S4 for $199.99 shipped, down $50 from its standard $250 MSRP and matching eufy's direct store pricing. The outdoor fixture features 4K video recording, customizable lighting, 32GB of local onboard storage, and a detachable 2W solar panel without requiring recurring subscription fees. Multi-camera bundles including the HomeBase 3 hub are also marked down starting at $496.97 shipped on Amazon.
Hip2Save outlines how shoppers can find discounted open-box, pre-owned, and refurbished merchandise through Amazon Resale and Amazon Renewed across categories like electronics, kitchen appliances, and tools. According to the report, Amazon Resale grades items from "Used – Like New" to "Used – As Is" and generally allows 30-day returns unless marked "Final Sale," while Amazon Renewed offers inspected, factory-restored goods with a 90-day or 365-day return window depending on the tier. Shoppers may need to select "See all buying options" on product pages to view available inventory, which fluctuates rapidly. Specific item prices, sellers, and stock levels remain unknown, though qualifying orders ship free with Prime or on $35+ orders.
Some Amazon Resale items may be open-box, customer returns, or warehouse-damaged.Amazon Resale inventory fluctuates, and the source says products may not be replenished predictably.Amazon Resale listings may require selecting “See all buying options” to find pricing.Amazon Resale items marked “Final Sale” are non-returnable and non-refundable.Member Deal
Tom’s Guide reports Google has introduced new stainless-steel Metal Mesh bands for the Fitbit Air, available in champagne gold and polished silver. The standalone band is priced at $70, while a bundle pairing the accessory with an Obsidian Fitbit Air is listed at $149. Intended to give the tracker a discreet, jewelry-like appearance, the new bands are scheduled to release on October 27 alongside the Fitbit Edge. Specific merchant availability, checkout shipping costs, and hands-on build quality remain unverified, as the source author has not tested the accessories in person.
Purchase destination not confirmed. See the source for details.
9to5Toys reports that Amazon is offering the 16.2-inch Apple MacBook Pro configured with the M5 Pro chip, 24GB of RAM, and a 1TB SSD for $2,499 shipped, reflecting a $500 savings against its $2,999 list price. Multiple other 14-inch and 16-inch M5-family MacBook Pro builds are also cited with varied markdowns. Specific seller and fulfillment terms are not identified, and deal availability or pricing may change without notice.